How A Chairty Opened My Eyes | Raising Awareness

This post is the beginning of a new topic for this space. I am passionate about helping others in any way I can, and this usually leads me to working with great charities and the even greater people behind them. This post is about raising awareness, featuring a wonderful blog and helping out a dear friend and her wonderful family.

(to help raise awareness and share a families story please go to the voting instructions at the bottom of this post)

A year ago I found a charity event called The Princess Ball, and I will admit it, I only found it because of my love for Disney and all things girly. When I asked to volunteer, it was offered that I could be apart of the planning committee. While I have never planned an event before I agreed. That is how I learnt about Cystic Fibrosis.

Cystic Fibrosis

The most common fatal genetic disease affecting Canadian children and young adults. There is no cure. Cystic fibrosis causes various effects on the body, mainly affects the digestive system and lungs. While each patients case is different, most commonly the persistence and ongoing infection in the lungs, with destruction of lungs and loss of lung function, eventually causes death in the majority of people who have cystic fibrosis.It is estimated that one in every 3,600 children born in Canada has cystic fibrosis.

Before knowing about this event, I would probably still be unaware of CF, in all honesty it would have been overlooked information for me. But now that I know, I can share with others, just as you can share too.

Now that you know a little bit about CF, now I want you to meet Sasha. A lovely little girl who always seems to be smiling. When you see her, you would never think anything is wrong. But she faces the struggle of having Cystic Fibrosis. She goes through countless treatments and many medications every day. Right now she is young, children don’t always know when they are sick or how serious their health is, they just want to act like everyone else. Explore, learn and be happy. It is up to her parents to make sure she is as healthy as can be. It takes really special and loving people to keep up with all the health aspects Sasha and all other children with Cf face. I cannot imagine the struggles they themselves encounter when caring for a child with CF. But through everything, they make the most of every day, which is truely inspiring.

While one blog post can’t tell you everything, Sasha does have a blog of her own (run by her mom of course).
It’s called : Sasha Smiles

Right now Sasha Smiles needs your help! To help them raise awareness about Cystic Fibrosis and share their story, I would love it if you could vote for them to be The Top Mommy Blog! Here’s how:

  • Just click on the link >> http://fighting4sasha.blogspot.ca/ <<
  • Click the Black Side Bar until you see Vote For Me!
  • Then you Click on the Top Mommy image and that is a vote!

To learn more about topics mentioned see links listed below:
Cystic Fibrosis // The Princess Ball // Sasha Smiles

© Addie-Eliza, 2015.

One thought on “How A Chairty Opened My Eyes | Raising Awareness

  1. Merisa LePage says:

    Wonderful! 🙂 Thank you for helping us shed some light on cystic fibrosis so that one day we can find a cure for our precious Sasha and all those battling this disease. ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

